There at the New Yorker

WordNYcover

Thanks to an enterprising gentleman/scholar called Gavin Hogg, and his ongoing blog project to log all issues of the much-missed Word magazine, I have just re-read my autumn 2005 article on the New Yorker, which is my favourite current magazine and I suspect always will be. I don’t get commissioned to write “long-form” articles that much. The occasional meatier piece for Radio Times (I’m working on a Star Wars story right now, and I’m going on the set of Peaky Blinders this week), and the even more occasional feature for the Guardian or G2 (although the newspaper’s filo-pastry-like commissioning process is sometimes as impenetrably layered as the BBC’s!), but I mostly, these days, I seem to talking again – on the radio, on the Guardian website, on further talking head shows – and my writing work is all beneath the surface, in script form, in development. So, it was an education to re-read what turned out to be an educated three-page feature in its original – and rather fetching layout. I reprint it here, as – what the heck! – I’m rather proud of it. It was from the heart, and decently researched, and comes from a place of genuine love, which is always a good place to start. I wish Word magazine still existed, but remain truly thankful that it ever did.

WordNY1WordNY2WordNY3

3 thoughts on “There at the New Yorker

  1. I *really* miss The Word too. When I win euromillions I might start it up again – who cares if it loses a bit of money when it is such quality. I can’t help wondering if there could have been a way to monetise the Massive but it would have lost something of its soul in the process I suppose.

    Glad someone is curating the Word. In a small but important way, the world is a better place for it.

    Ed

  2. Andrew, having read on your blog that you subscribed to the New Yorker I cancelled my subscription to Empire (after 25 years) and changed to the New Yorker in April. I now know rather less about upcoming films, but a lot more about dozens of subjects I’d never even considered. I even devour the restaurant and bar reviews about places I’ll never visit. The topics are almost invariably compelling and the writing uplifting. The only downside is that I can’t keep up with the weekly supply.
    I’m glad to have this opportunity to thank you for the recommendation.

    viv

    • I feel bad if I contributed to Empire losing a subscriber, but there’s nothing to beat the New Yorker. It is a way of life. I read this very morning about kelp farming and I’m so glad I did.

Do leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.