In the navel

Back to the attic – in a brief but festive West London snowstorm! – for our 95th podcast, with a 25-minute section on bad breath, and most of the rest taken up with dissection of what Peter Kay’s acceptance speech meant at the Comedy Awards and who is the most against sweatshops and torture out of Rage Against The Machine and X Factor‘s Joe McElderberry. There’s a bit on Twiggy’s eye bags and Tiger Woods’ inappropriate violence against a man who hasn’t got enough blades in his razor. Unfortunately for the latest one-star ingrate on iTunes, we don’t have time to inspect the fluff from our navels and sod off the radio!

13 thoughts on “In the navel

  1. Talking of Peter Kay, did you see the Royal Variety Performance where he read every link, monotone, off a crumpled bit of card? Talk about preparing for things beforehand.

  2. I like how all comedians seem to hate Mcintyre and Kay these days, they are a bit rubbish though. Also, I read on chortle that NGO has been un-cancelled. Will the new series feature any Andrew Collins penned episodes?

  3. Sorry, JerryVonKramer, I have a lot of my mind, working ridiculously hard this festive season … was it the question about Adam and Joe? I can't remember and I don't have time to go back through all the comments. If it is, then no, I don't think we are covering for Adam and Joe, since nobody at 6 Music has been in touch. If that wasn't the question, ask it again, please.

  4. When did people start hating McIntyre? I can't stand Kay but McIntyre seems like a lovely and relatively humble man. Yes, he has broad appeal, his stuff is clean and never edgy, but does that always have to be a bad thing? I much prefer the likes of Lee and Herring myself, as I like comedy to push at the boundaries and experiment, but McIntyre is still a good performer and injects character into his old-fashioned observational routines.I see a massive difference between McIntyre and Kay, mainly from their characters and personal attitudes.

  5. I have no inside info, so it has always been a mystery to me as to why Peter Kay attracts such approbrium from other comics.Until know that is…His self aggrandising and wholly smug appearance on tonight's "One Show" revealed him as a man who has believed his own publicity. Your's and Rich's shots at him over the last couple of podcasts have now come in to sharp focus.You can fool some of the people…

  6. Was amused to hear you describe the Brighton to London train as being "rammed", before explaining how you nearly got a double seat (or possibly you nearly both got a double seat).Rammed?!!?! Gosh, how I envy you for not having to catch trains every day before 9am…I'd love to know what adjective you would use then!SussexBoy

  7. You seem to be taking my phraseology very personally, SussexBoy! By taking a train that left at 10.19 I had rather expected it to be less full. It was, relatively and comparatively, rammed. I have, in my life, taken commuter trains on a daily basis. I feel your pain. I am now self-employed and can travel at off-peak hours. Do not damn me for that.

  8. The story about Mr Breath reminded me of when I was once sent to a customer site to work for a few days to see a project through to completion. I was introduced to, let's call him, Mr White. Before the handshakes and introductions were finished it was clear that Mr White had something awful wrong with his breath. For the next week I had to contrive all sorts of reasons not to spend long in the same place. I ate, and offered, more smints and ESMs than at any other time. The urge to put my nose into the top of my shirt wrapped up in my tie was overwhelming. But we got there.However, six months later the same situation arose. This time no problem. Mr White while not exactly fragrant, was nonetheless devoid of mouth fart odour. Then at lunch one day, and out of the blue, he said how much he hated going to the dentist but that his wife had forced him to go and sort out the "enormous abcess underneath all of my lower right teeth. I hadn't noticed but apparently, it had made my breath smell a little and she was ready to leave me." An awkward moment that passed in silence.

  9. I saw the first few minutes of The One Show and Peter Kay seemed to be doing his usual schtick for this type of thing. I don't generally enjoy this stuff any more than when Lenny Henry used to do it on every show he guested on in the eighties. (And I know Peter Kay loves the eighties. And the seventies.) But Kay did make me laugh a couple of times.Is he really like this? Does he really think he's the funniest person in the world? I doubt it. But I suspect he does what he does because people laugh and he gets asked back, so why change the act? (Is there a reason, I wonder, why people believe Peter Kay does think he's great, while they accept that Ricky Gervais is being ironic when he behaves in exactly the same way?)At least Peter Kay (and Michael McIntyre, though his success baffles me) aren't precious about what they do. So many comedians seem to be ridiculously up their own arses. I'm so sick of comedians telling me they're "a bit autistic", that they don't see the world the way I do, and then proceed to tell me… a joke. Of course you think about things differently: you're a comedian; I'm not. It's not a mental illness. You're not special. And in my opinion you're no more of an artist than Peter Kay is, whether you think your material is more original than his or not. (It probably isn't.) Darker isn't necessarily harder, braver, cleverer, or funnier.I may have dreamt this but I seem to remember Tom Binns having a go at Kay on MacAulay And Co at Edinburgh this year. He was mocking the originality of Kay's material. That was Tom Binns, in the guise of Ivan Brackenbury. That's a comedian, playing a hospital radio DJ who says inappropriate things and uses snatches of records as punchlines, having a go at another comedian for his lack of originality. Perhaps it was a knowing acknowledgement: sometimes this irony business is a bit too deep for me.Phoenix Nights was a well written, well constructed, and funny little sitcom. There aren't many of those. Does it matter that it wasn't cutting edge? Should we despair because its air time could have been used to show some more "interesting" comedy, or should we just be grateful that it was used to show a decent scripted British comedy rather than, say, The Girl Whose Foot Fell Off. Or Wife Swap. After the break… a summary of what we saw before the break, and find out why this dramatic-looking clip we keep showing you isn't anywhere near as exciting in context as it looks here.For the record, I don't think Peter Kay is one of the greats. I still love comedy. But I'm rapidly falling out of love with comedians. I'd say it's an age thing, but many of those who annoy the tits off me are older than I am. I don't want an XFactor Christmas number one. But I don't want an anti-XFactor one either. I just want some decent records I can listen to. Stop telling me how shit Peter Kay is and get on with showing me how funny you are, you knobs. [That's aimed at comedians in general, not the purveyors of the podcast, who, I'm sure, would never engage in such pointless backbiting.]

  10. Slowly catching up with the pods as you can tell. I've been reading a book about Hatha Yoga which talks about the digestive system and the need for regular enemas.Foul perspiration and foul breath are often caused by this effort of nature to get rid of what should have passed from the colonSo there's some practical advice you can give to the next odorous person you come across….or meet less intimately of course…

Do leave a reply

