Brilliant at drawing

Well, we came – again – to Brighton, we saw – again – but did we conquer? Only you can decide, after listening to Collings & Herrin Live Podcast 94, recorded in front of a near-sellout crowd amid tinsel, prizes and Up-style balloons at the tremendous Duke Of York’s Picturehouse, scene of our triumphant first full show in May, a triumph we foolishly hoped to replicate tonight. I’ll be honest, it was an odd crowd. Many seemed on the verge of hysteria. There was, shall we say, an interactive vibe in the air. When Richard did a rendition of a special song, composed at the age of 10, very much pre-enlightenment, the audience went along with it (and indeed cheered to demonstrate their eagerness to hear it) until halfway through the second verse, which, to be honest, was no more shocking than the first verse. There is further juvenilia, including my own primitive, acoustic Profanity App, made in about 1973 and the public debut of Richard’s story The Dectives. Perhaps these tested the patience of the audience and sent them over the edge. Maybe. But that’s the fun of doing these live gigs. I hope the at-home version conveys some of the bizarre atmosphere.

Thanks to Jon and John at the Duke Of York’s, for dressing the stage (“Who designed the stage set?” asked one man, loudly, during the ill-fated Q&A), packing them in, manning the controls and allowing us to run way past midnight, including a signing session at the end for the most devoted participants, many in appropriate t-shirts, and none of whom tried to punch or kill us. Below are some pics taken backstage during the interval, one posted up by Holly aka Project Lumino at our shop (she’s the one in the Mitfords t-shirt), and a really bad one of the audience. A memorable evening, if a decidedly strange one. Thanks again, Brighton, you beguiling and up-for-it boho town.

Plus: here’s one taken by MrJohnRain of my Secret Dancing demonstration from the first half, complete with five, that’s five volunteers, all brilliant. I wish I could have seen it! (I can’t remember all the dancers’ name, so please come forward and claim your glory.)

36 thoughts on “Brilliant at drawing

  1. Maybe the later start gave some of the audience the opportunity to get a little too well refreshed? A great night though. Had to leave before the end of the podcast to get the last train back to London!

  2. A thoroughly entertaining night – loved the Secret Dancing!Also feel privileged to have got my booming voice into the podcast at least twice – Knoll Edmonds indeed!

  3. Oh dear, I am feeling a bit nervous about attending the London podcast, it all sounded a bit sodom and gomorrah, in fact some of the guttural exclamations from the audience, terrified me.

  4. Great show, my partner and I were next to the lady who kept moaning about Rich's references being so out of her age range-I agree with the comment he makes on Warming Up about diminishing returns in heckles-if you do a good one leave it at that and you may get a laugh-but she was well pissed and wouldn't stop-didn't stop us enjoying the show-thanks for a great night, xxx

  5. I can understand the ranting at Peter Kay from Richard-RH writes a show every week from nothing and PK has been hawking that same old 'd'you remember Spangles and Monster Munch' shtick for years…he's the sort of comedy you like if you can't be bothered to think, Pavlovian laughter to the bell of 70s nostalgia…no wonder he's playing all those nights at the MEN arena, he knows his VERY EASILY PLEASED crowd well.

  6. I really enjoyed the show and I think what made it such fun is that it was so different to the last Duke Of Yorks show. If it had been the same i'd have been really happy but it wasn't samey and no-one was bored in the slightest! It's exciting how you can't really predict the audience. And the excitement of it all is why I love the podcast.Indeed some very strange people heckling from Collings 'far left' of the stage some strange people heckling to the far right of the 'podcast' Richard Herring……however it was all fiting and so worthwhile.Come back again! I can only hazzard a guess as to the audience on the third Duke Of Yorks gathering.

  7. I thought it was brilliant…perhaps because of the strange atmosphere, which came through on the podcast. Richard's song had me nearly crying with laughter. I was walking home and I had to actually stop and wait until my eyes cleared and I could see again.

  8. Richard won't admit it but I'm sure is he is honest with himself there is a little bit of envy mixed in there with regard to PK.I'm sure it goes along the lines of: "How has Kaye managed to sell out the 02 with his low-brow material when I have to flog my arse off in much smaller venues with my more intelligent stuff"Unfortuneately life isn't fair and we don't all get what we deserve. To go about it just smacks of sour grapes.The show was fantastic by the way and weird in a good way. Not sure I have been to such an odd event as the audience actually thought they were part of the show.It helps that there were plenty of nutcases. You Andrew I think were quite happy to continue but I think Rich had had enough by the time of the Q&A and was maybe a bit concerned that if the crowd drunk anymore things would have taken a turn for the worse.Please come back to the D of Y as it walking distance from my house.

  9. Chris, the live podcasts are an ongoing experiment. If you don't like and prefer the attic-based ones, they are clearly flagged up and easy to miss out.Of course you are entitled to your opinion, but anecdotally, it seems that many other people enjoyed the oddness of the latest live one. You're right that it was "quite different" to previous ones – that's due to a couple of things: the rowdiness of the audience, many of whom had taken a drink; also, with the nature of the podcast so bedded in now, it's no wonder people feel they have judged the tone of the event and feel that shouting out and being rude/funny is part of the deal. We introduced prizes to create a festive atmosphere, and, unless you were there, this did not impinge upon the 1hr, 6min, 36sec running time.Some of the audience may have been "getting rather restless during the detectives story", but that's the nature of the beast. People listening to the normal podcasts might also get restless, but you can't hear them and neither can we! It's fun for us to occasionally get instant audience reaction – it's certainly what Richard is used to – rather than work in a vacuum. When you complain that you'd "heard all this before in podcast 92" – well, no, you'd heard some of Richard's childish stories, but this was a new story. You could also say you heard us discuss newspaper stories before.In your opinion, "encouraging people to shout out numbers" was not "in keeping with the spirit of the podcast." I'd personally rather not judge something on the basis of whether if fits in to some prescribed formula. The "Profanity App" was clearly a one-off, and brought many laughs. You can complain, in the sense that you're clearly a loyal and long-time listener, but at the same time, you can't blame us for trying to open out the format a bit, on occasion. Sorry that you "miss the days when Andrew would simply go through a few stories from the papers while offering a wry satirical spin on them and Richard would rip the piss out of both the stories and Andrew." I think we would get more complaints if we strictly stuck to a formula. When you complain about "pre-prepared stuff", it's not pre-prepared. Neither Rich nor I had seen each other's stories before, as was pretty obvious.I hope it's clear that when "Richard was pissing himself laughing while singing a racist song" he was laughing at the sheer audacity and idiocy of his younger self, and at the outrageous decision to revisit it at a 42-year-old man, in public. I was there, and I can promise anybody listening who wasn't there that we were laughing at these aspects. I couldn't believe what I was hearing, as, again, it was not pre-prepared. So, sorry if you didn't like the latest live one, or some of the things in it, and that you long for it to be how it was. You have to accept that these things evolve. We never imagined we'd still be doing it two years later, and nor do we spend ages analysing what we do, or why it works. That's why some weeks it doesn't work, and some weeks it does. We will continue to do live ones – one in Cardiff in Jan, one in London in Feb – and see how they go down. If people didn't like them they wouldn't buy the tickets. If they didn't buy the tickets, we'd stop booking them.

  10. 'The audience sounded like they were getting rather restless during the detectives story'…….Well no! Not at all..On the way home in the car we all agreed our highlights were the detectives story, the secret dancing, the song, and the prof app. And the song was meant to have the cringe factor of course and the pantomime booing was just part of the fun.So perhaps Richard and Andrew know the nature of the live audience better than you think. Especially in Brighton….it is a bit more liberal from my experience of the live podcasts! And actually the most fun ones I have seen!

  11. The jokes about Peter Kay are very much directed at myself. I am not actually bitter about his level of success as compared to mine. I am very happy with how things are going. But of course, by going on about it, I only make myself look like a bitter idiot. That's the point.Having said that I am not a fan of that kind of comedy, but I don't know Peter Kay and have seen very little of his stuff and as his and my comedy and audience are so different I can't really envy him his life or his fabulous wealth.The stuff I said in AIOTM about the Children in Need thing is something I half meant, but he has raised hundreds of thousands of pounds for them and whatever you think about him that's amazing. You are supposed to be laughing at my ridiculous churlishness rather than Peter Kay (well, maybe 80/20).And yes, laughing at the audacity and ignorance of my childhood racism/attempt to write something outrageous. As well as my adult audacity to admit what I had done. I am awfully embarrassed by the song. That is again most of the joke. All the best.

  12. I really enjoyed this one and the palpable hysteria of the audience.The whole segment with Richard's song had me in hysterics. As one who cringes to think of his 11-year-old self, I totally understand where he's coming from. Much better to laugh at the ridiculous naivete of a small town upbringing than be terribly po-faced about it and pretend that it didn't happen.

  13. I imagine that if the Chinese person was a listener of the Collings and Herrin podcast he or she would be both shocked and amused at Richard's humorous expression of the casual racism we all indulge in during childhood. If he or she wasn't a listener, then they may have been offended. This lack of self censorship is one of the reasons Richard is an interesting comedian, he has a good understanding of the line between offensive and acceptable, and how blurred that line can be. Personally, I don't think he overstepped the mark and I don't think that either Andrew nor Richard has to listen to a minutes criticism of the work that they produce for free. I listen to the podcast to hear the humorous banter produced when these two men get in a room together, if they want to branch out and start doing a drag mime act, or a series where they travel around Southern England visiting medieval churches in a Reliant Robin, I'll still listen in until they stop being funny. And when that happens I won't write in and tell them that they are not making me laugh anymore, or that they put my nose out of joint in some way, I'll just stop listening.

  14. I am of Chinese descent, and did find the song funny. I think I can speak for my entire race in clearing Richard of any wrong-doing.(The above statement is as relevant to the argument as the 'some of my friends are black' school of self-justification)Although I can see why some people may have found it uncomfortable listening, it's probably not worth getting offended on behalf of a hypothetical listener.

  15. Love the podcast – have listened to all of them, and will continue to do so. But in future, perhaps you could sit on the other side of each other? And also change the running time to 1 hour, six minutes and seven seconds? Also, I've just noticed that the "G" in Herring appears on the end of Andrew's surname in the podcast title – it's only a little thing, but I'm surprised you haven't noticed and corrected it yourself. I've also spotted that when discussing the events of your day from around where you live, the pair of you mostly refer to London, which is a bit uninclusive for those of us who don't live there. Although I do.Richard also tends to talk a lot about being a comedian, and I've noticed Andrew often talks about radio-presenting and journalism. Come on gentlemen, what about people who are plumbers, or estate agents?As I say, love the podcast, but by virtue of having listened to them, I think I'm entitled to give a little bit of advice. Don't you go changing! Except, perhaps you could make it twice-weekly? Or possibly bi-annual. And guys, stop doing jokes about Tiger Woods every single week!- A true fan.

  16. Actually with a reference to Chris above, I do miss out these live podcasts as I find 'audience partcipation' the most tedious thing. Personally if I want to hear half drunk people shout out randome words/obscenties then I can go for a walk in the centre of town most nights to hear that.I did try to listen to a few of the live ones a couple of months back thinking that maybe I might change my mind, but no…Spirit of the podcast or trying new things etc, for me doesn't matter. After all its essentially two blokes chatting to each other while I listen.Its the very different personalities I like even if you tell us RH is not really like his Podcast Persona in real life. When you are on stage in front of a live audience, the personality changes – call it playing to the audience, call it being shit scared call it what you like, it is very different. Also you can tell in some cases (at least when I have listened) that RH cannot but help himself go 'for the gratification (?)' of the laugh of a live audience which you don't hear on the attic recordings.It all seems more (literally) staged than natural.Often when I see a 'this week's live podcast…' on the blog I sigh as I know I will now have to wait another week for a 'proper' C&H podcast.But somehow that often can make it sweeter because I have to wait that little bit longer.I wonder if I am in the minority here about not liking the live podcasts – not that it matters nor should it – how about another one of those surveys again Andrew now that you are nealy 100 Podcasts old?

  17. So did you guys actually lose the audience? I wasn't able to come, but it really does sound like it on the pod. This one wasn't for me, but I've had 94+ hours of free entertainment from you two, so I'm not going to start complaining. I don't want the moon on the stick.That said, if Richard is reading this, I've made a graph in which I have rated the AIOTM shows out of ten so far:http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/2073/71637190.jpgI've not really been into the childhood stories, but I will say that narrating The Thriling Three was probably Emma Kennedy's best work since Nostradamus.

  18. Also, even though I thought Podcast 94 wasn't among the better ones, I think it would be churlish to take offence at the song. That said, one thing Chris said is true: I sometimes miss the "bread and butter" of the pod — that is, Andrew going through the news with quirky insights and satirical left-leaning observations with interjections and objections from Richard. I know the course of the show is organic and largely dependent on Richard's mood, but I sometimes long for the halcyon days of Lion Man. Which brings me to another thing: Why is Lion Man NEVER mentioned anymore?!Of all the hundreds of in-jokes, the two that are never referenced are Lion Man and Gary Sparrow.

  19. The 90+ podcasts for free have been really excellent and I have enjoyed them greatly. The podcast sounded and Andrew's comments here make me feel that the experience was rather 'mixed' for some of the audience in the venue, those listening on their headphones and the performers. Some of the long drawn out parts reminded me of what I have read (though not seen much of) Andy Kaufman. I suppose that could be seen as praise (meant as a description rather than an evaluation). My view (for what it is worth) is that it was the least satisfying of the live podcasts and not the best of the podcasts in general. But it did make me think and want to post something for the first time on the podcast. For the first time I got the feeling that I would not be suprised if a 'break' was announced in the next few months.The above comments seem a bit 'serious' but I did think it wasthe most thought provoking podcast so far and I was surprised by that.

  20. There was a lingering smell of vomit in the venue as well, particularly in the area where I was sitting. A couple of friends sitting further back also reported the same smell when we met up afterwards. So this could have been responsible for some of the apparently subdued audience response – we were all quietly gagging slightly before and after every laugh.Chris A

  21. The song was unexpected (not PC) but very funny…RH seemed to be choking with laughter and you and part of the audience a little stunned at first?All good, the important element of the live podcasts is it puts a few shekels in the pocket and christ knows we all need the shekels at the moment.Grieves me that Ricky Gervias charges so much for his podcasts (…sorry audiobooks) and we all pay. Having listened and enjoyed over and over again your 94, I would be quite happy to pay a reasonable sum per week. Even if it were only 50p it would give you a revenue stream?The thought must be with you every week.Such is life.Mike

  22. We really enjoyed the show & were crying with laughter at several points (including during Richard's song – I have a couple of pics of you holding your head in your hands in disbelief).When we arrived at Brighton we were pleased to find that my mate's sister, Lisa, was keen to attend with several of her pals who already had tickets as they are all big fans. She was one of the Secret Dancers along with her friend, the bald chap with glasses (I've forgotten his name I'm afraid). Another of their number was the crazy bloke with long hair (Aaron?) who enterprisingly shouted out to Rich if he could have a prize & then scared him by almost running up on stage to grab it!Afterwards I was quite insulted to be described by them as a "mad stalker fan" as I've always thought I was quite normal & well-behaved! Maybe it was the Who Is Virgilio Anderson T-Shirt I was wearing that did it?

  23. When you asked the audience to shout out numbers for your early profanity app, I shouted out 69 and was so pleased to get "Brilliant at Drawing". Imagine my DELIGHT at finding the "69 Brilliant at Drawing" t-shirt now available to buy! I've asked Baby Jeebus for a special Christmas surprise in my stocking. :o)And that's not all!! I took along a friend to the show who's never listened to the podcast, and he informed me yesterday that he's been Secret Dancing every chance he gets!Great show! Great podcast! Is this the future of comedy??

  24. Andrew, are you and Richard booked in to replace Adam and Joe whilst they take a break for a few months? If so, do you know who is? I think you'd both fit the part well, as demonstrated before 🙂

  25. If Richard does that song again, he should start with the "bloody small" verse, then do the "slitty eyes" one and finally the "yellow skin" verse. In its current arrangement, the final verse is an anticlimax! Good luck with it!David B

  26. I just listened to #94 for the first time last night.I think comedian Jon Richardson once said that Christmas is a horrible time for comics as the audience turns up "in such a good mood that you can only make it worse for them"….. no matter what you do. Based on what I could hear I think there were just some people in the audience for the wrong reasons who, probably due to the excitement of Christmas and the over confidence people have when they are with a group, decided that the best way to go about their experience would be to undermine the confidence of pretty much everybody there.I tip my hat to Collins and Herring for their bravery and for standing their ground as I know I would have stormed off stage in tears crying "what do they want, what do they want?" or at least asked some people to leave halfway through.Kudos to them.

Do leave a reply

