Radio times

So, they allowed Collings and Herrin back onto the actual radio on Saturday morning, filling in for the hallowed Adam and Joe show, 9am-midday, albeit not trying to be them – that would be a fool’s errand and we are too similar in height anyway. Earwax, Johnny Ball, trumpet cleaning, Gene Hackman, Noah – it’s like a podcast, except with music and no swearing – and it has been calculated that we actually spoke for about one hour and six minutes in total. How about that? I liked it when someone on Twitter suggested we sounded like an old married couple arguing. Maybe we did. It’s on iPlayer here. I hope you find it as much fun to listen to as we were obviously having in the grabs shown here. (I like the pic in the middle where Richard is very busy checking his iPhone.) And, on a related note, you can listen to me doing the Entertainment Guide on Dame Michael Ball’s Sunday Brunch on Radio 2 from this morning. It begins at approximately 0.50 and ends with me reviewing How David Hasselhoff Brought Down The Berlin Wall, a documentary written and presented by … Richard Herring (which is itself on Radio 2 on Tuesday, 10.30 and I describe, dispassionately, as “a great hour of radio”).

30 thoughts on “Radio times

  1. it was a great show. very rare can i follow a 6music show on twitter as i did. fair enough it was just mrjimBob having a one sided conversation with you and talking about what was going on on air. but still, next time ur on 6 u should incorporate twitter into the show. it's like lamacq's roundtable chatroom. there should be a permanent one or constant tweet-commentaryCosi http://www.cosi1.co.cc@Sinister_Dexter

  2. "I liked it when someone on Twitter suggested we sounded like an old married couple arguing."I think that may have been me. I meant it in a good way, obviously. Enjoyed the show, hope you're back soon.

  3. Loved it: I actually preferred it in some respects to Adam and Joe though this was helped immensely by Richard's disgracefully puerile but nonetheless successful attempt to subvert the show about 10 minutes in by saying his breakfast was "nyum, nyum, nyum": the subsequent nano-corpsing was pathetically but highly enjoyable.Marcus

  4. First time I've listened to either of you on the radio and I noticed you used your book voice; much more posh than the podcast. Richard sounded the same, just a bit less shouty.Oh, and I looked up the Lee and Herring TOTP stuff on YouTube. One comment asked if it were true that Richard is now a gay Nazi. You couldn't make it up!

  5. First time I've listened to either of you on the radio and I noticed you used your book voice; much more posh than the podcast. Richard sounded the same, just a bit less shouty.Oh, and I looked up the Lee and Herring TOTP stuff on YouTube. One comment asked if it were true that Richard is now a gay Nazi. You couldn't make it up!

  6. I'm usually in my bed on Saturday morning and enjoy Adam & Joe in podcast form, but this week I had to work. I had the DAB in the office blaring 6music and you and Mr. Herring passed my morning very nicely. I loved the show and hope they have you back for more. I was also happy to hear Richard use Nyum Nyum Nyum during the show.IainLondon

  7. Great show, Andrew.Just thought I would point out the pointless fact that Wario is a good name for the baddie in the Mario games because it sounds like 'warui', which is the Japanese word for 'bad'.Yes, I am a dick.

  8. A quick thanks to you and Richard for an excellent show on Saturday, I listened to the first hour, laugh out loud funny at times and with some excellent tunes inbetween, really kept me going through some tedious work. You must feel like you are walking a tightrope though, easy to imagine you are back in Richard's attic and anything goes?The only gripe is that there was no Luke Haines (at least in the first hour), are you aware he penned "the mitford sisters", plus has just released the incredible 21st Century Man album. Did your paths ever cross during your NME/Q years, I can imagine he would be an interesting person to interview?

  9. Really enjoyed the show. Hope you and Richard get to do it together again sometime soon – there's a real chemistry (inevitable, I guess, after 90-odd hours of podcasting).By the way, are you going to the Carter gigs on Friday/Saturday? If so, I trust we can look forward to a thorough review. Me and my mate are going on Saturday.Jon

  10. Jim – if you ever want to meet Luke Haines, he's always in the Spread Eagle, Camden, drinking bitter, on his own, looking angry.My brother chatted to him once and can confirm he's a nice man.

  11. Respect for playing both KRS One and a little played Bowie album track, Andrew.I found it slightly cute how Richard was sort of on his best behaviour, it's almost like you were taking him out for the day.PS. To all the people to signed up to my forum but didn't post: you're fucking idiots!

  12. I liked Richard being on his best behaviour. And a bit nervous at the start, too, it seemed! Bless his little worrisome tryings.But no bonus behind the scenes podcast with a recording from your trusty laptop?? For why??!Bex

  13. I enjoyed listening. Mostly to see how often you'd corpse (how is it possible to do anything when he's in the room ?) and willing Herring on close and closer to 'the edge' and almost smelling the fear from the producer. Always good to hear you on 6music. Maybe there's a show there (even a pre-record?) involving all your passions ? Music from the movies ? Bit simple perhaps but aren't the best shows based on simple ideas ? I wish they'd bring back Mint on Sunday nights too.

  14. really excellent – the podcast Herring was desperate to come out… esp the discussion about the men in the ballet… my wife finds it hard to distinguish your voices from each other…! (maybe the Mr Bean voice is catching!!) J

  15. Why would that upset me? I think he's a comedy genius already. I am fortunate to be allowed to exist in his slipstream. I've always made that clear. (Anyway, it's only good this week because he did a sketch about me and got a man to do an impression of Alan Bennett and say it was of me.)

  16. I thought the impression of Andrew sounded like Graham Fellows' creation Ken Worthington, the supposed agent/neighbour from "The Shuttleworths." Once I realized this, it made it even funnier.Right before Richard says "Nyum nyum nyum," does he say Cumpkin seeds? I can't tell.

Do leave a reply

